Gulf Shores & Orange Beach | Vacation Rentals
Call Today : (877) 747GSVR

image desc
Book by phone: +1 (877) 747-4787

Lucy the Big Bama Beach House

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental house. Sleeps 14, 5 bedrooms, 3.5 bathrooms. No pets allowed.

1506 Sandpiper Lane #2 Gulf Shores, AL 36542 United States

view full size image gallery

  • Large open living area to relax & spread out - Gulf Shores beach vacation rental
  • A large fully equipped kitchen now has gorgeous granite counters
  • Perfect for family gatherings, twice as large as most homes that sleep 12-14!
  • Nook in Living Room

Lucy the Big Bama Beach House is a wonderful, family-friendly, Gulf Shores vacation rental beach house--close to the beach, lots of room, PLUS a shared pool (March-October) and fishing pier! We think the Gulf and lagoon offer you the best of both worlds.

Lucy is located in a quiet family-oriented setting in the West Beach area of Gulf Shores just 300 yds from the beach, and 2.5 miles west of Hwy 59. You are away from the condos and crowds, yet close to all the restaurants and activities. Our cul-de-sac is directly on Little Lagoon so you have good fishing and crabbing, a place to tie up your small boat or jetski, or just a wonderful place to enjoy sunset cocktails (a neighborhood tradition!).

With over 2700 square feet on 3 Floors plus 2 Large Covered Porches & 2 Open Decks, you'll have plenty of room to spread out at Lucy the Big Bama Beach House.

Lucy sleeps up to 14 in 4 Bedrooms + 3rd Floor Crow’s Nest. Each bedroom opens to a porch or deck. There are 3 large, full baths, a powder room on the main floor and an outdoor shower.

There are 2 King Masters, 1 on the Main Floor, 1 on the 2nd Floor. Each has a Private Bath, Private Deck, and TV. The Main Floor Master Suite is extra luxurious with a King Bed & Luxury Bath with Garden Tub & a Separate Shower.

On the 2nd floor you'll find 2 More Bedrooms, a 3rd King and a Family Bedroom with a Queen + a Pair of Twins. In the 3rd Floor Crow's Nest you'll find another Pair of Twins.

Lucy's lovely, tranquil setting & amenities make it a truly unique place for a family vacation. Just across a cul-de-sac from the house there’s a Shared Pool, Fishing Pier with Boat Slips & a Small White Sand Beach on Little Lagoon. You are just 300 yards from the Big White Sand Beach on the Gulf.

This peaceful Pool & Pier retreat is just for the houses on our cul-de-sac. The covered fishing pier is a great place to fish, crab or just relax. Cocktails at sunset on the pier are a tradition in the neighborhood - the sunset view is one of the prettiest in Gulf Shores.

The pier is equipped with chairs, a fish cleaning table, lighting, electricity & hammock hooks. You can even tie up a boat or jet ski here. There is room in the driveway to park a boat trailer, and a nearby public launch. The Pool is open March through October and offers a beautiful view of the lagoon & plenty of lounge chairs for relaxing. And the little beach by the pool is a safe place for even small children to wade & play in the sand while you relax at the pool or pier.

Click on the link below to see rental terms & more information as well as up-to-the-minute availability.

Lucy the Big Bama Beach House rents by the week from Saturday to Saturday throughout the year. Lucy is in a quiet family subdivision, and is not appropriate for young adult (under 25) singles groups. This policy & occupancy limits are strictly enforced by the owner and home owners association.

Download Vacation Rental Flyer
Rooms and Amenities
Property Type House, 2 story, House or Duplex
Unit Code LUCY
Bathrooms 3.5 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 14
Floor Area 2700 square feet
Pets No pets allowed.
Standard Amenities Communal Pool, Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Kitchen Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Ice Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware
Living Central Air, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet
Business Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Bank
Convenience Area FitnessCenter, Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, Outlet Shopping, Movie Theatres, Golf Course
Outdoor Balcony, BBQ Grill, Outdoor Shower, Shared Pool, Beach
Geographic Near Beach
Entertainment Cable TV, DVD Player, Stereo System
Average Manager Rating (Based on 767 reviews)
Overall satisfaction: 5 stars
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager: 5 stars
Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 18 reviews)
Overall satisfaction: 4.5 stars
Overall satisfaction
Cleanliness: 4.5 stars
Cleanliness
Location: 4.5 stars
Location
Property condition: 4.5 stars
Property condition
89 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Annual Family Vacation

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    Brenda W from LOUISVILLE, KY recommends this vacation rental

    Wonderful! House is furnished with everything but food. We rented 2 homes this year, however, Lucy was the place we cooked, ate and socialized.
    only had one problem, the a/c went out for a while, however, Susan/gregg had it repaired immediately.

  •  
  • Mulryan Vacation 2015

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 4
    • Location
      Location: 3
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 4

    Susan M from Dwight, KS recommends this vacation rental

    The home worked well for us. Initially I was disappointed it wasn't closer to the beach but due to the invasion of jellyfish, we spent most of our time at the pool and lagoon anyway. The home had everything we needed. The grill was not used due to the condition of it.

    • Manager Responded on 8/22/2015

      During your stay, if you'll let us know about issues, we'll do what we can to fix it. If you use the grill, please clean it afterward--common courtesy for the next guests. This is the reason most homes do not provide grills for guests.

  •  
  • Lucy was a Great Host

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    Mary H from Fayetteville, NC recommends this vacation rental

    Our extended family of 14 (from 4-64 years) thoroughly enjoyed a terrific week at Lucy. The pictures accurately gave us a preview, the furnishings were relaxing and comfortable, the rooms were roomy, the location was terrific. We found the walk to the beach to be easy - with parking available by the beach access to carry our chairs, umbrellas, stuff, etc. We all enjoyed the pool and especially the pier with many happy hours spent crabbing and fishing. Location was quiet, and convenient. We found the property clean, and well maintained. Our only issue was the key to the house was in the lock and door open upon arrival - this was promptly addressed by the management and explained that a property inspector had mistakenly left it open after he had done maintaniance. We received prompt answers to our questions both prior to and during our stay. Management also corresponded timely with emails to keep us informed of traffic delays, directions, and information needed. We would be delighted to return here if our travels again brought us to Gulf Shores. A popular attraction of our family was the Hangout, a family photo done on the beach by Rebecca Boquet, and just being together as a family.

  •  
  • Awesome, Awesome, Awesome!

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 4
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    a guest from Dixon, IL recommends this vacation rental

    Lucy is in a great location. Off the beaten path and just a 5 minute walk to the beautiful beach. Lucy had enough room for our three families (6 adults, 7 children). Shared pool was a little small for our group, but it was in a great location looking out on the lagoon.

  •  
  • Friends trip

    Stayed 7 days ending in May, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    Kyle K from marietta, GA recommends this vacation rental

    We travel to Gulf Shores in May with Friends from college every summer. This is the 2nd house we have stayed in from these owners. They are professional and prompt to say the least. The A/C went down on our trip and was fixed within 2 hrs of calling Mr. Geoff. The house is just as described. Clean and well taken care of with plenty of space. Just a short walk to the beach, and a short drive to The Hangout. Couldn't have asked for a better house.

  •  
  • Spring Break in Bama

    Stayed 7 days ending in March, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 3
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 2
    • Location
      Location: 4
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 2

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 3

    Barbara F from Waxahachie, TX does not recommend this vacation rental.

    The house was as described. The refrige needed a filter for the water and ice. The trash compactor did not have correct bags and no instruction on how to use. The window air conditioner in the top floor bedroom did not keep it cool. The air conditioner for the rest of the house could use a good cleaning. Cannot believe that we paid a cleaning fee up front but had to do the cleaning before we left such as taking out all the trash and washing the towels for them. What was the cleaning fee for? Did not provide paper products, cleaning products, laundry soap which we bought and left for the next renters. Was not quiet the other properties next to us rented to college kids and they were drunk all the time, loud, bad language, etc. was told this was a quiet area. The grill was left dirty and had to be scraped to use and the bottom was broken. The best thing was the location to the beach...the beach was great!

    • Manager Responded on 4/11/2015

      Please call us! We are happy to bring a new water filter or trash compactor bags and are surprised to hear our housekeepers did not leave paper products & laundry soap. We wish you had called us or responded with that when we texted you to see how everything was. We do ask you to take out your trash and please get the towels started in the laundry rather than leaving wet towels on the floor or the carpet or the beds. There are two reasons, 1) we don't like the carpets & beds to have wet towels left on them, and 2) we find many fewer items are left behind that would be hidden under the piles of towels. It usually is a quiet neighborhood. Let us know if you are having issues and we'll get the neighbors to deal with it and send the guests home. The grill has been replaced and we ask guests to leave it as they would want to find it, but they do not always comply--that is why most houses do not have grills for guests. We balance thinking you want one, with the reality that some guests are more considerate than others. The crow's nest AC will not keep up if all the blinds are left open on hot days just as the rest of the house will not stay cool if the doors are left open. When we closed the blinds and doors, the house immediately began to cool off to normal temperatures. We have not thought that we needed to post signs to remind guests of this common phenomenon, but we may need to.

  •  
  • I love Lucy

    Stayed 7 days ending in December, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    Ray E from Mooresville, In recommends this vacation rental

    The Lucy property could not have been better. Everything inside was exactly as advertised, clean, practical, and very functional for our family of 11 people and some 26 more for a party on Christmas Eve. There was plenty of space and tableware for everyone. The kitchen and countertops were new and very functional. We may rent it again someday.

  •  
  • our thanksgiving house

    Stayed 7 days ending in November, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 4
    • Location
      Location: 4
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 4

    Laura S from GRIFFIN, GA - Georgia recommends this vacation rental

    This house was great for our family reunion. The location is great; away from the commercial areas, quiet neighborhood, walking distance to the beach. Yet plenty to do for entertainment within a short distance.

  •  
  • Great property--would love to stay again!

    Stayed 7 days ending in October, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 3
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    a guest from Buckner, KY recommends this vacation rental

    We have stayed in many rental houses and this was one of the best yet. Everything was very well maintained and clean, with plenty of room for our group of 4 adults, 5 teenagers and a child to spread out and enjoy the week. The distance from the beach was further than we usually get (no real beach view or ocean sounds from the house) but was walkable and was never an issue for our group. Our party would most certainly like to stay at "Lucy" again--it was a great property and and a lot of house forbthe price.

  •  
  • Fall break trip to Lucy

    Stayed 7 days ending in October, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 4
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    a guest from Greenfield, Indiana recommends this vacation rental

    11 of us (ages 1-58) stayed for a week in October. There was plenty of space for all of us. The pool and little beach proved invaluable especially the day the surf conditions were high. It was a 10 minute walk to the beach which was made easily, even by the kids. The house had everything you could need including tons of beach stuff, plenty of housewares, and lots of hot water. Susan and Geoff were terrific and answered all our questions quickly. The app was awesome and made it easy to find info regarding the house and area. Would stay here again in the future.

  •  
  • Fall Break Vacation

    Stayed 7 days ending in October, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    a guest from Greenfield, IN recommends this vacation rental

    Lucy was everything we expected. We had 12 guests and had plenty of room to spread out and not feel like we were on top of each other. The beach was in walking distance and we took advantage of the sunshine every day. We will definitely be back to Lucy for future vacations. Thank you Susan and Geoff for giving us the opportunity to stay in your home and build memories.

  •  
  • Family Vacation

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    Eric S from Cincinnati , Ohio recommends this vacation rental

    This was one of the best family vacations we have ever taken! The house was perfect. It was the cleanest vacation house we have ever stayed in. It was also spaced out so that everyone had enough room. We will absolutely be back.

  •  
  • Gulf Vacation

    Stayed 7 days ending in June, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 4
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 4
    • Location
      Location: 4
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 4

    a guest from Otley, IA recommends this vacation rental

    We gathered as a family from different areas of the country.
    We enjoyed our time in the gulf, spending most of our time at the beach as none of us have that available near our homes.
    The house worked out great with each family able to have a room, and the general space of the house was great- as we had 5 children age 7 and under.
    Thankyou! Great vacation!

  •  
  • Nice, Affordable Home & Just a Quick Walk to the Beach!

    Stayed 7 days ending in March, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    Melissa L from Hot Springs, AR recommends this vacation rental

    We stayed at Lucy the Big Bama Beach House over Spring Break 2014. Our group consisted of 3 families (we were there for a baseball tournament) and I can honestly tell you that everyone had their own space! The home was very clean, the beds were comfortable, the furnishings were nice, the kitchen was well-equipped (a must for our group!)... It is a great place to stay if you don't want to pay for gulf-front, yet want to be close to the beach. Susan was great to work with and emailed us a couple of times during the week to let us know the "goings-on", which was appreciated. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  •  
  • To far from the beach

    Stayed 7 days ending in October, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 3
    • Location
      Location: 3
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 4

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 4

    a guest from scottsboro, AL does not recommend this vacation rental.

    The house was nice, my biggest complaint ,it is to far from the beach. It was farther than I expected it to be. I think you really need to check your properties after the cleaners are through. The ceramic tile in the kitchen and bar area were very dirty. Not with things, just black from lack of scrubbing. I scrubbed one of the tiles in the bar area when my kids were not at the house and then ask if they could tell which one I cleaned and all of them could see the difference. I am a very clean person and it would of been nice to have a floor you could go barefoot on and not get black feet. If the cleaners would scrub the tile and get it clean it would be easy to keep that way with a steamer. I know the agreement said extra cleaning would be charged to me at $50.00 per hour. And the orginial cleaning fee is $199.00. If the renter has all the towels and other things beside the bedsheets cleaned and put away, which is what they ask you to do, what are the cleaners doing for four hours? I have cabins in the smokies and if my cleaners left the floors like this was I would be very upset.I'm not talking about sand on the floors I'm talking about an accumalation of dirt over time and some spills over time that just get skimmed over.Also on the stairs between and around the spindles was sand that I cleaned off. I just think you aren't getting your moneys worth from your cleaners. Otherwise we had a good time at Lucy and for the price it was good.I'm usually not a complainer, but since I received this review I decided I would let you know what I thought. And like I said I would want to know if it was one of my cabins.

    • Manager Responded on 12/9/2014

      The beach is definitely 300 yards from the house, it is paved all the way, but it is still about a block & a half way. That is out of our control. The poor job of cleaning, that is within our control and it just wasn't up to our standard, or this guest's expectations. Please call us if you have an issue. It shouldn't have been in this condition, and we've changed housekeepers & some processes to avoid this in the future. But we would have appreciated a call so we could come fix it for you.

  •  
  • Great Trip

    Stayed 4 days ending in September, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    a guest from McIntosh, AL recommends this vacation rental

    We have stayed are several homes in the area and this property surpassed all the others. Wonderful time.

  •  
  • Review of "Lucy the Big BAMA Beach House" at Gulf Shores,AL

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 5
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    Vann J from Madison, AL recommends this vacation rental

    Our vacation rental experience with Geoff and Susan at GSV Rentals was excellent. Their photos and property descriptions were accurate and they promptly answered all of your questions prior to our vacation. We had one issue with the WIFI not working and following our service call someone was at the house within about 15 minutes to resolve the WIFI issue. The house was very clean and we hope to include "Lucy" in our future beach plans to continue building great family vacation memories. It was convenient to the beach and access to the pool and Little Lagoon (where we docked our jet skis) was perfect. The neighbors were great and we shared specialty grilled food items and cocktails on the pier at sunset. Lucy the Big BAMA Beach House is a great value for a large family and I would recommend it to anyone with a group of 10 or more. Lucy has beds for up to 12 guests, excluding the sleeper sofa! We hope to book "Lucy" again next year...you want be disappointed either! Thanks Susan and Geoff!

  •  
  • Family Vacation

    Stayed 7 days ending in June, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
      Services from rental manager: 5
    • Cleanliness
      Cleanliness: 5
    • Location
      Location: 4
    • Property condition
      Property condition: 5

    Overall satisfaction: Overall satisfaction: 5

    Henry O from Ledbetter, KY recommends this vacation rental

    We all had a great time. Grandkids and all. The house was more than I could have hoped for. The weather was fine, and beach was great. Would do it again if the chance arises.

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Promo Savings: Remove
Discounted Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:
What's this?

A promo code is for special discounts and may have been provided to you in either a newsletter, email or other correspondence from the manager or owner of this property.

*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

Seasonal Rental Rates for this Vacation Rental

Dates Daily Weekly Monthly Minimum Stay Checkin Restrictions
Aug 15, 2015-Sep 11, 2015 $325 $1,956 na 3 No restrictions
Sep 12, 2015-Oct 30, 2015 $200 $1,395-$1,400 na 3 No restrictions
Oct 31, 2015-Nov 20, 2015 $200 $1,204 na 3 No restrictions
Nov 21, 2015-Nov 28, 2015 $250 $1,505 na 4 No restrictions
Nov 29, 2015-Dec 18, 2015 $200 $1,204 na 3 No restrictions
Dec 19, 2015-Jan 1, 2016 $250 $1,505 na 4 No restrictions
Feb 29, 2016-May 13, 2016 na $1,825 na 7 Sat checkin only
May 14, 2016-May 20, 2016 na $2,500 na 7 Sat checkin only
May 21, 2016-May 27, 2016 na $2,975 na 7 Sat checkin only
May 28, 2016-Jun 10, 2016 na $3,150 na 7 Sat checkin only
Jun 11, 2016-Jul 29, 2016 na $3,500 na 7 Sat checkin only
Jul 30, 2016-Aug 5, 2016 na $3,150 na 7 Sat checkin only
Aug 6, 2016-Aug 12, 2016 na $2,975 na 7 Sat checkin only
Aug 13, 2016-Sep 9, 2016 $350 $2,450 na 3 No restrictions

*Seasonal rates are estimates only. Actual rates may differ. Seasonal rates do not include fees or taxes.

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
30.244721,-87.731774

Gulf Shores Vacation Rentals 1229 Gulf Shores Pkwy, Suite 204 Gulf Shores, AL 36542 +1 (877) 747-4787 susan@gsvacationrentals.com

© 1999 - 2015 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon